What-We’re-Reading Wednesdays

After a conversation with friends the other night, I got to thinking about reading. In our house we read incessantly. My husband and I always have a book or two (or more) going on at any given time. We read to our children all day long and in turn, the kids “read” to each other.
So, in honor of this passion of ours, I’d love to highlight books we read each week. It may be a book I am reading, have just finished, have heard about and would like to pick up, a reading resource like paperbackswap.com, or childrens’ books, you’ll have to wait and see!
In addition, you will see the Mr. Linky down below so that you, too, can join in the fun of reviewing books you’ve just finished or just letting us know you are in the middle of a good one, or passing along a tidbit you heard about an author and his or her writings. I know for me, word-of-mouth is typically the way that I have discovered some of my favorite reads! Don’t forget to leave a comment! And feel free to use the above WWRW image! Be sure to only link us to your WWRW post and not your blog home.
Oh, and by the way…this is a no-pressure bloggy situation. Just like Boomama invited us into one another’s homes, lets see what we are really reading. No need to try to impress anyone. If you are reading the National Enquirer, then be proud (and fill us in on some of the gossip); if you are reading Umberto Eco, great. Tell us what you think.

So without further ado…

I am currently reading The Second Time Around by Mary Higgins Clark. This is my summer “beach” read. It is easy to read and kind of relaxed in the sense that I don’t have to think too much about it! I love mysteries and crime novels as long as they are not gory. I have enjoyed every single MHC novel I have read. And this is no different.
I won’t tell you too much about it but sufficed to say that I am halfway through and it really has me second-guessing my initial whodunnit theory!

I am also studing The Catholic Family in the Modern World. It is a small book written by a Jesuit priest and it is excellent. It is good for grounding us in what we are about as spouses and parents in this hectic world of ours.

My kids are “reading” Little Book of Saints Vol. 1. sold by Catholic Heritage Curricula. We are beginning homeschooling and this book is what we are reading for the month of August which is focused on God. I love it because it has short stories about the saints themselves and the 3-4 fun facts about each saint that my 3-year old can remember. We even make up a little song with these fun facts in it!

So there you have it. That is what we are reading.
Tell me, what are you reading?

3 thoughts on “What-We’re-Reading Wednesdays

  1. Overwhelmed! says:

    I’m reading “Rules of Prey” by John Sanford.My 19 month old is reading “A Mother for Choco,” “Toes are to tickle” and “Moo Baa La La La” just to name a few of his favorites.

  2. Kate says:

    Hmmm – We were just at the library yesterday and we checked out our max on two cards! Big B has lots of history books (more on Rome and Greece this time and some war books); Honey B checked out 19 American Girl books (she reads them and then writes a little something about them in her notebook); Sweet B wants Little House chapter books read to her these days; and Little B got a lot of books on bugs and insects of all kinds. I am reading “Persuasion” by Jane Austen. It’s hard. I have to keep re-reading it since it’s old English and very long what I call run on sentences. But I hear it’s good!

  3. Andrew says:

    I’m re-reading “Trouble in Paradise” by Robert B. Parker (though I have a slight preference for his Spenser books, love the sense of humor) and also reading “Let Me Tell You A Story” by Red Auerbach.< HREF="http://lovehonoranddismay.blogspot.com/" REL="nofollow">To Love, Honor and Dismay<>

Comments are closed.