Works for Me Wednesday

The Sock Box

What to do with those mismatched socks? Well, my solution is pretty simple. I have a carboard box in my laundry room set aside just for socks. When I do a load of laundry and it has been washed, dryed, folded, if there are mismatched socks, I simply throw them in the “Sock Box”.
Then at the end of every month, or as by necessity, I go through the sock box and sort what I have found. Whatever socks do not have matches go to Sock Heaven: arts & crafts bin for sock puppets; rags for furniture and window cleaning; potpourri satchets for in closets and drawers; and the trash.
In reality, socks are just not worth keeping around for longer than that if the matches haven’t been found. I mean, really, do socks mean that much to you that you must clutter your home, your sock drawer, your laundry room with all the single socks that will never find their mates?
Not for me. So with this system I set myself free from sock clutter. It Works for Me!

For more Works For Me Wednesday tips, check out Shannon’s Blog

4 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday

  1. Overwhelmed! says:

    Wow, this brought back some memories from my childhood. We had a sock box and did just as you did, throwing in lost socks and periodically trying to match them up. We never got rid of those orphan socks though, they just stayed in that box for eternity. I wonder if my mom still has that sock box. I’ll have to ask her. 🙂 I like your suggestions on what to do with the socks, other than just throw them away. Thanks for sharing! Thanks for your comment on my < HREF="http://overwhelmedwithjoy.blogspot.com/2006/09/works-for-me-wednesday-list-of-age.html" REL="nofollow">list of age appropriate children’s chores<> post. I’ll be emailing that list, to everyone that requested a copy, later this afternoon. And, yes, I have your email. 🙂

  2. Laurie says:

    I do this too – in fact I just purged my box yesterday (feels great!). We have one additional rule – any single socks that you find in your room go into your laundry basket. Since I KNOW that no one will walk all the way to the basement to deposit a sock, at least I have a fighting chance of getting the singles when I fold the laundry.

Comments are closed.