Green Beans & Chicken Wings

It’s that time again – Five Ingredient Friday, a fabulous recipe exchange hosted by my friend, OW. After you’re done here, check out her sight at Overwhelmed With Joy for more recipes or to post one of your own. We’d love it if you’d join us!! I have two fabulous recipes today: Kid Friendly Green Beans, and Chicken Wing Dip.

Oh, and before I get started with my Yum-O recipes, I have to bring something up with you. So, ummm, since my recent makeover, I have also added a site meter. It has been SUPER cool to see just how many folks visit my blog each day, where y’all are from, etc. I thought for sure since I only ever get like 5-7 comments on average, that only about 20 people are visiting my site each day. Dudes, it is not just a few people reading this puppy – it’s HUNDREDS!! (Go ahead and check out my site meter if you don’t believe me!!). The way I see it there are a few types of visitors:
1. The type who stumbled upon my blog through “god only knows what link” and reads only the first post and then never comes back. …….If this is you, fine, I understand you not leaving me a comment letting me know you’ve been here.
2. The type who came here because of the link in my personal email signature. That probably means I know you. Can I just say, that it is a little creepy to know you read things without you ever, EVER leaving me a comment. Think of it like email, you can just say “Hi Stacey, cool post, see you next week.” or ” Wow Stacey, I never knew you thought that way about that. Me too, let’s go to Casa sometime and talk.” or “I am calling you later today because it sounds like you need a friend right now.” WHATEVER, just let me know you are here and not “lurking” which is what we in the blogger world call those of you who visit our sites and never, ever comment.
3. Finally, the type who again, have found me through who knows how, and you are a FREQUENT FLYER. If this is you, you come back to my site to check things out week in and week out, you click on previous posts, links, archives, you name it. And yet, still, you do not comment. Seriously, I know you are there and I would love to hear from you!
So people, consider your selves told/invited/encouraged/begged to leave me some LOVIN’!!!!

and now back to our regularly scheduled blog…

Yummy Green Beans
(this is a recipe that my real life friend over at Four In Tow gave me in a little cookbook we made with our Women’s Group. This is seriously a dish that my whole family DEVOURS!! My two preschool-aged children ADORE these beans so much that I actually have to make enough to serve them 2nds and 3rds!!! Who EVER heard of little kids eating their veggies this well???? I am going to start experimenting with switching out the vegetable but leaving everything else the same. I am hoping it works as well!

1 package frozen green beans (or one can if that is what you have)
1/2 package of Good Season’s Italian Salad Dressing Seasoning Mix (the powder only – don’t actually make the salad dressing)
2-3 Tablespoons Butter/Margarine
1/2 cup shredded English Cheddar or Romano or Asiago cheese.

Cook the beans, drain the water.
Add the butter, sprinkle the seasoning on.
Add the cheese just before serving so it is just melting as you dish it up.

Chicken Wing Dip
I first discovered this when a friend served it while we were camping last springThis tastes just like hot chicken wings, but without the mess. It is very addicting, and is perfect for football and tailgating season. Serve with tortilla chips.

INGREDIENTS
2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
3/4 cup pepper sauce, such as Franks® Red Hot®
1 cup Ranch-style salad dressing
2 cups diced cooked chicken
1 cup shredded English cheddar cheese (it’s white not yellow)
DIRECTIONS
Preheat your crockpot.
Stir together the cream cheese and hot pepper sauce until well blended. Mix in the Ranch dressing, chicken and Cheddar cheese. Let sit on “low” or “warm” all day stirring occasionally.
Serve with tortilla chips.

Yum-O!!!! If you try this or plan to try, leave me a comment and let me know!

12 thoughts on “Green Beans & Chicken Wings

  1. Jammy says:

    I have to comment that your photos are absolutely gorgeous!! I have such a love for photography….Ok, now to the recipes: I cannot wait to try the green bean one especially! Thanks a ton…Jenn

  2. Overwhelmed! says:

    Stacey, thanks for joining us in my < HREF="http://overwhelmedwithjoy.blogspot.com/2006/10/five-ingredient-friday-caramel.html " REL="nofollow"> Five Ingredient Friday <> recipe exchange! Both of your recipes sound delicious!Going forward, here’s what I think I’m going to do. I’m going to change the name to “Favorite Ingredients Friday” and allow my participants to decide how many ingredients they want to post, while encouraging them to keep it as simple as possible. 🙂 What do you think?Oh, and as for your site meter stats, my blog is the same way. I get on average about 200 hits a day, but not nearly that many comments. I don’t mind though, largely in part because I was a lurker for so long myself before I got brave enough to start leaving comments and then starting my own blog. Now that I have my own blog, I do try to leave a comment whenever I visit someone else’s blog, just because I know how much people appreciate that.

Comments are closed.