Works for Me Wednesday – "Git ‘er Done" Scrapbooking

Git ‘Er Done Scrapbooking!

Many of us scrapbook and I think many of us are in the same boat- we are behind. Some people are decades behind, while others of us are swimming with partial books done and we are still adding kids to the mix, which means, ofcourse, more pics, more albums, more scrapbooking stress.

Well, one of my tips today originated with a little hint of organization I found at my “real-life-friend” Missy’s blog, Four In Tow . She had written about how she keeps all her pictures for cropping, a paper-cutter, and a printout of her contact sheet so she could keep her pictures organized while she cropped. (Her method was a bit more elaborate since a) she crops her pics into shapes as well; and b) she crops multiples of many of her pics for several albums.)

What is important here is to jump in where you’re at. Start scrapbooking the life you are living now, and gradually work backwards. If you work on scrapbooking the most recent photos first, you will have better quality journal entries, and you will get a real sense of accomplishment.

Here is my goal: Part One: On the last day of the month, order all the pics from the month that I want to purchase through whatever photofinishing service I want (my online store of choice is kodakgallery.com). Part Two: During the following two weeks, completely scrapbook the previous month. (Scrapbook all of January during the 1st two weeks of February). Part Three: During the last two weeks of a month, work backwards with whatever of my scrapbooking is left undone. (For me, I will be working on 2005, one month at a time)

Anyways, so my Efficient (otherwise known as Get ‘er Done) Scrapbooking WFMW tips are as follows:
1. Organize your pictures on your computer. Have them organized by year, then month. Do this as you upload them so that when you go to order them at the end of the month, you don’t have any sorting to do. Editing? Maybe, but sorting? Nope.

2. As soon as you have your paws on those pics, start cropping! Follow Missy’s plan explained aboved, and simply crop till you drop. I spend about the lenth of time it takes to watch a movie cropping the pictures for the month. Each picture has it’s own style. If you do shapes, great. I do not, all my pics are squares & rectangles.

3. As I crop I begin to envision certain groups of photos together. For instance, if in January, we spend a day at the Science Center, then ofcourse I will do a spread on that. And if I have a group of 3 pictures of the kids doing something – like building the Arch shaped tower… well, I will cut those 3 pictures into the same size square – framing the action – and then they can be scrapbooked together in a row or column along the edge of my 12×12 page. Get it? Here is an example…see the pics on the right side? I cropped those all the same size, so it brings a sense of planning, order, and symmetry to the page.


4. Also as I crop, I use simple white envelopes and put cropped pics together in envelopes according to event/theme and keep those sorted chronologicallly.

I also try to plan what layouts will go where in the album, and to do this, I simply slip the pictures for that page inside the page protector – which acts as a sleeve/envelope – that way I can come back to do these pages and remember what I had planned. Here is an example of what I mean:

5. I begin scrapbooking by matting all my pictures for a certain spread (I personally mat most of my pictures in white – but some I will double mat with an accent color). I do this for ALL the spreads for the month. (Think of these steps like assembly line – do ALL the cropping, then ALL the matting.

6. Then I do all the layouts, planning each page and glueing down ALL the pictures.

7. Then I do all the journalling/titles/captions. I like to do some by hand and some on the computer. The computer gives a polished look and it is quick. But the handwriting is so personalized – a treasured keepsake for your children.

8. Then I add all the embellishments: Ribbon, stamping, dye-cuts, stickers, etc.

I have found that scrapbooking in this fashion has helped me to get more accomplished in a short period of time. If for instance, I have all the pages laid out, I can little by little add the journalling or embellishments. Or if I am in the craft store, and I see a set of stickers or embellishments and I have the pages I have “finished” in my head, I know what to buy that will match, and what to skip – even though it may be cute, simply because it won’t go with the color scheme of the layout or there won’t be room for it. Does that make sense?

Anyways, this is how I scrapbook and I hope these tips helped you. They work for me!!

For more WFMW tips, check out Rocks In My Dryer.

13 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday – "Git ‘er Done" Scrapbooking

  1. Overwhelmed! says:

    I really need to take the plunge and get back into scrapbooking! I have one scrapbook for Snuggle Bug, but it’s only through his first 4 months of life (he’s now 2).

    I like your suggestion of starting with the present and slowly working your way back. Trying to backtrack and get caught up to present time feels too intimidating.

    I’m pretty good about organizing my digital images by year and then by month and I’m anal about labeling all my images with years and titles. Printing them out shouldn’t be a problem.

    Thanks for the scrapbooking tips. I enjoyed the pictures you shared.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Hmmm…that’s a really great idea. OK, I think I might try that starting Feb. 1 – and I hope when I said that it doesn’t become like “I’ll start dieting tomorrow!” My scrapbooking is horribly behind, so this might help. Thanks!

  3. Justice Fergie says:

    Thanks for this! I have all my scrapbooking stuff in a pile and don’t know where to begin. If I scrapbook this month for December 2006 and then work my way back it makes it easier to digest. Will try to start this weekend!

  4. Nikki says:

    Oh, thank you for this tip. My aha! moment from your tip was the scrapbooking current photos the first two weeks and then older ones the next two weeks. I can handle that! Now I don’t feel so behind and overwhelmed.

    I found your tip from the Rocks in my Dryer website. I hope you don’t mind me commenting and visiting the rest of your blog!

    Nikki

  5. Sissy B. says:

    I LOVE this WFMW!!! This March I will be officially two years behind on my daughter’s scrapbook…she turns 12 on the 13th of March…I like the idea of scrapping today and working backwards!!! Actually, I loved all the ideas….now that I have a digital camera they are getting backed up on my computer…you had good tips there also! Thanks!

  6. Lisa says:

    Great tip! I need to get organized. I am really behind in my scrapbooking…….really behind. But your tip is just the motivation I need. Love the idea of scrapbooking current photos in the first 2 weeks and older photos the last 2 weeks. Thanks for sharing.

    Lisa :o)

  7. Larae says:

    Awesome tips! I definitely need to get back to scrapbooking again. I haven’t in so long and I’m way too far behind. I love this method, thanks for sharing! =)

  8. Anna says:

    I used to be a Creative Memories consultant until I moved here to London in the UK…I love it and brought all my stuff with me. It truly is a labor of love…

  9. Crazy Daisy says:

    I love the way you have this organized! I am one of those that is way behind. I have kept up on a couple things (one xmas page per year, one state fair page per year) etc however, need to figure out what to do with all the rest! THANKS!

Comments are closed.