For the Love of Learning Part 1

I am working on a series about LIFELONG LEARNING. My husband and I are both extremely committed to this idea and we do everything in our power to make our home a place where learning is a delight to be celebrated and cherished, and not a drudgery. Please join me FOR THE LOVE OF LEARNING….

***********************************

“I think that no matter where your child goes to school, you can give them a fabulous gift for life by showing them that you LOVE learning and LOVE learning with them. ” (a friend at MOG)

Pretty much this sums up what our philosophy is.

While we are pro-homeschooling and seriously considered it for a while, we felt God calling us to something else. SO, our kids are going to a little public preschool for the 3 year old program (2 mornings a week) and then for the 4 year old program (4 afternoons a week). And then off to fulltime kindergarten in the Catholic school where my amazing mother-in-law is the principal.

We have a homeschooling atmosphere and approach to our play with the kids. Books galore, field trips to educational/inspiring places/instilling in them a LIFELONG LOVE OF LEARNING. Afterall, that would be our goal if we homeschooled full-time. We simply hope to reap the best of both worlds by having them learn, pray, and play within our community and compliment that with our nurturing, educational environment here at home.

Down the road, I would like to create complimentary activities for things they are learning in school. (For example, if they are learning about the civil war, do things like: civil war costumes, age-appropriate movies & fiction books, family vacation to civil war monuments, etc.) Does that make sense? It is work, no doubt, but I feel called to this mission and I am excited to see it all unfold.

Here is an example of how it works now with the preschool set. Em is in preschool. And yesterday they had a field trip to the zoo. Now, the class as a whole is less educational and more play than we would prefer, but I think it is okay, because that is so neccessary at this age too! SO, the twins I babysit, our son Timmy and I all accompanied Em’s class. And it was fun. We took lots of pictures and I think it helped Timmy to be with the older kids in his exploration of the goats in the petting area, etc. As a complimentary activity, today we are drawing/coloring animals we saw at the zoo, watching the Baby Einsteins animal video, and doing an animal parade. We are also going to go to the library to find a few books on some of our favorites from the zoo trip, like the iguana, the guinea pig, and the brown bear.

One of the markers of our success at instilling a LIFELONG LOVE OF LEARNING is SYNTHESIS. When we see cross-curriculum synthesis using multiple intelligences. All that is “teacher-ese” to explain the joy I felt when yesterday at the zoo, the kids saw the Brown Bears and began reciting from memory Eric Carle’s Brown Bear, Brown Bear what Do You See? book!!! THAT, my friend, is synthesis! THAT is a marker of an educational environment that has instilled a love of learning!

I am thrilled with the gift of participating with God in raising these little angels and watching them grow, learn, and discover the splendor of the KING!!!

6 thoughts on “For the Love of Learning Part 1

  1. Me says:

    This is something I agree with whole-heartedly (I made full prairie costumes for my girls at Christmas and we have a gazillion books). Another thing is keep at least a few globes and maps around the house to reference (we’ve got more than a few but that would be because I love them)…give your children the gift of geographical knowledge early…

  2. Julie says:

    Love your post…I couldn’t agree with you more. I am a previous elementary teacher turned stay-at-home mom of three. We sent our oldest two (ages 8 and 6) to a Catholic preschool and pre-k. Although, we were unable to continue in the Catholic schools due to financial cost, we try to supplement what they are learning in the classroom… especially adding faith formation. It is exciting to see all the learning come together! (mjpurdy@stny.rr.com)

  3. Julie says:

    Love your post…I am a previous elementary teacher turned stay-at-home mom of three. We sent our oldest two children (ages 8 and 6) to a Catholic preschool and pre-k. Although we were unable to continue in the Catholic schools due to financial costs, we try to supplement what they are learning in the classroom…especially in faith formation. As you mentioned, it is exciting to see all the learning come together! (mjpurdy@stny.rr.com)

  4. Leanne says:

    Hi Stacey,I got your sweet note…I hope you liked the picture! I loved making it for you…Yes, we were placed in each other’s lives for a reason.Love you,Leanne

  5. Jen says:

    I look forward to reading your series. I believe learning is a lifelng experience. I love books and am passing this love onto my boys

  6. Elise says:

    Excellent, Stacey! As a homeschooling mama, I am always looking for ways to make the little ones lifelong learners -you have discovered a way to have the best of both worlds! And I think it is very important that you and Tim are involved even with what your little ones are doing IN school – i.e., attending field trips, etc. Good job!

Comments are closed.