30 Day Organizational Challenge

I have decided to enter a small space into the challenge as well….

since I was, you know, doing it anyway!

This is the closet of the nursery BEFORE I emptied it out.

This is the closet of the nursery all EMPTY!!

This is the closet of the nursery with a SYSTEM!!

And here is the great thing (i.e. the thing my husband is happiest about): I DIDN’T SPEND ANY MONEY!!!

Yup, I re-purposed containers I already had, and used shelving that was already in there – just switched it around for a fresh look and a new system!

Starting on the left…

– a hanging hook on the inside of the closet on the “door-side” if you will where I can hang anything – for now it is the black/toile infantino sling.
– a lower shelving unit which is home to a lamp, a piggy bank, a monitor, and a stuffed elephant (the first thing the kids picked out for Baby Zachary when they found out they were having a baby brother).
– the blue photo box you see is Zachary’s momento box. I always start one of these for my kiddos before they are even born. So far this box has letters from me to Zachary in it, and a copy of his ultrasound picture. This will have to be stored much higher soon. (Good thing there is a super high top shelf!!)
– I am not sure what else I am going to put on this shelf – see all that empty space!! It is nice to have room to grow within a system!

OKay, in the middle: tall shelf with 3 baskets.
– one for bibs, one for hats, and one for socks. Simple. Organized. Pretty.

Clothes hanging up in the right hand corner are 0-3 month clothes. And way up on the top shelf above those clothes you may or may not be able to see a clear container. I have 3 of these. (The other two need to have their contents, which are non-baby related, removed and then they will be empty and ready to go up providing even more room to grow within the system!!) Right now, that one bin is all kinds of baby toiletries. I am the type of person who stocks up when there is a sale or something is on clearance or whatever so that is what those bins will be for. One for extra toiletries, one for extra packs of wipes & diapers, and one for bed linens. These are things you only need to pull out every so often, so it makes no sense for them to be stored any lower.

Okay, and now at the very bottom. You see more clothes on the left? Well those are 3-6 month clothes. We have no idea how big the baby will be ofcourse, and he could grow very fast. So I have those washed and waiting in the wings to be worn!! Then you see a laundry basket – these collapsable ones are MY FAVORITE KIND!!! And then the folded bouncy seat resting against the wall. All clean, simple, organized.

Ahhhhh. This feels great!!

7 thoughts on “30 Day Organizational Challenge

  1. Munchkin Land says:

    Oh wow! I love what you did with the nursery closet. It puts my closet system to shame! =) You look all ready for the arrival of your little one. I can’t wait to meet him!

  2. Karen says:

    Stacey–looks fabulous!! I think we must be kindred spirits–not everyone loves organization, but boy do I! And, obviously, you do, too! Your last sentence nailed it: “Ahhh, this feels good!” I’m right there with you! Have a blessed Sunday! Karen

  3. Elise says:

    Oh, I’m so proud of you, Stace! Everything is so organized and pretty; and the fact that you’ve already written Zachary letters, and the kids have bought some special things for him, just moves me to tears.So blessed you are, so blessed is he. Blessed be the name of the Lord!

  4. Overwhelmed! says:

    Stacey, I’m impressed with your organizational and home improvement skills! You go girl!We need an update on the silent auction, or do I have to go to your adoption blog for that?

  5. org junkie says:

    Wow, how awesome is that! Very pretty especially the beautiful baskets. I love that you thought everything out into a workable system.Thanks for the update and “fix”!!Laura

  6. ChupieandJ'smama says:

    Looks awesome! Can you come and do mine please? It’s not the nursery anymore, but all the nursery stuff is shoved in the closet. I really need to get that organized too.

Comments are closed.