An Ode to my Twenties

You welcomed me with exuberance.
I was teetering on an edge of indecision, perilously perched on a porch of moral relativism when you came and embraced me with Truth.
You brought me home to the King of Kings.
You held my hand as I explored the Kingdom and marvelled at the jewels He had in store for me!
You waited.
You gently nudged me toward the path meant for me alone. You patiently waited as I made mistake after mistake.
You pretended to not hear when I cried out for you to be gone.
You pretended to not see when I acted as though you did not exist at all.
You waited.
Oh what folly! I was so blind to not enjoy you in those early days.
As you and I got better acquainted, you began to trust me more with myself. You led me down a path of unfathomable joy as you introduced me to my Beloved.
You cradled me through the endless nights of waiting for him.
You stood by and watched as I wrestled with my Lord.
You waited.
You ran with me as I began to fall in love.
You twirled with me as we danced through engagement.
You blessed me with unspeakable delight the day my Beloved called me his Summer Bride.
You laughed with me through our first pregnancy.
You waited.
You brought me my Emma Rose.
You brought me my motherhood.
You brought me my legs to stand on in the NICU.
You brought me my voice of truth.
You brought me my lullabyes.
You brought me my bedtime stories.
You brought me my I Love Yous.
You brought me my wholeness.
You brought me my holiness.
You waited.
You giggled with me as we anticipated our second born.
You brought me my Timmy Joseph.
You brought me my boy.
You brought me my wisdom.
You brought me my endurance.
You brought me my sense of humor.
You brought me my self-forgiveness.
You brought me my courage.
You brought me my bursting heart.
You brought me my grace for the moment.
You brought me my gift from God.
You waited.
You tiptoed with me through the discovery of a lonely womb.
You marched with me through the parade of doctors.
You cuddled me in my pain.
You watched as I opened my heart to love.
You winced as I recoiled in anguish.
You waited as I took the time to heal.
You waited.
You taught me to stand.
You taught me to dance.
You taught me to sing.
You taught me to praise.
You taught me to cry.
You taught me to laugh.
You taught me to heal.
You taught me to love.
You taught me to be.
To just be.

Today is my last day as a twenty-nine year old. This is the last day of my twenties. I am a little weepy. See, I LOVED my twenties. They were such a good decade to me!!

Funny, but even though it is hard for me to say goodbye to the decade that has made me who I am, I couldn’t be happier to be where I am at. This is my idea of heaven.

http://apps.rockyou.com/rockyou.swf?instanceid=70331709&ver=102906
10 thoughts on “An Ode to my Twenties

  1. Munchkin Land says:

    Happy early Birthday, dear friend! I hope your day is special and brings good memories. I, too, am not looking forward to that big 3-0 day. =) But just remember, thirties are the new twenties!! =)

  2. Karen says:

    Happy birthday, Stacey! Speaking from experience, the 30’s are great, too! May this be the first day of an incredible, special year full of tremendous blessings and lots of memories! (I had not heard this song before, but I love it–so fun and upbeat!!) Love, Karen

  3. Amy says:

    I love your ode! As I read this, I could relate to so much…but I have a couple more years left in the twenties:)

  4. Julie says:

    What a great ode to your twenties! Hope you had a wonderful birthday weekend… and wishing you only happy things as you begin your thirties!

  5. Barb says:

    I did my growing up in my twenties, Stacey. But let me tell you, I LOVED my thirties. You will too. People take you seriously when you hit 30! LOLHappy belated birthday to you. 🙂And it’s awfully to hear from you again. You sound like you’re doing well. I’m so glad.

  6. Elise says:

    I don’t know if my comment got lost or not – but if it did, I said something like…Happy belated birthday, Stace! You have the same birthday as my sister – we celebrated her twenty-first with margaritas on Saturday! 🙂I’m in the last year of my twenties as well – been kind of dreading it, but now reading your list… 🙂Blessings and hugs to you, friend!

Comments are closed.