Our Sanctuary

So if you are living on a budget and trying to impose some hard-to-maintain limits on your spending, I have a simple tactic that works for me:
STAY AT HOME.

You know, that ‘stay-at-home’ part of SAHM??!? What percentage of your time are you actually at home? Carpooling & chauffer duty aside, how much time do you spend in your home? For me, with my kids still young, this percentage should be fairly high. I don’t need to be out galavanting every single day. And when I stay home, and make home the place I want to be, well, inevitably, we spend less money.

I would post a picture of our home, our sanctuary, the place we love to be. But my camera batteries have died and I cannot find the charger for the life of me. If I had a dog I would venture to guess that he ate it. I seriously have sat down to my computer several times in the last 3 days of searching wistfully yearning to type into a little google box: “where is my camera battery charger” and have it actually tell me! Or better yet, just search it in the images section and it could show me! ahhhh, the limitations of technology.

For other WFMW tips, check out Rocks In My Dryer.

And for my very favorite WFMW tipper of all time: check out this post at A Path Made Straight.

As for the 30 Days of Nothing, well…

It has been… well, hard.

It has been nothing like what I imagined it to be.

I guess I had very romantic notions of vast feelings of solidarity. Where are those? Instead, I feel isolated. I feel alone. I feel embarrassed to even say to friends that we as a family cannot (in this case, “will not”) attend certain functions or do certain things with them that cost money. Not this month. I feel like we are forced into lying and covering up…. is that what people go through who don’t have any money? The shame? They are ashamed of the real reason that they cannot do something so they make up a reason. Hmmm…. there is something there to be said for the way we have stigmatized the less-fortunate and made them to feel ashamed.

We had a day without running water. And as I crept to the bathroom to finally flush the toilet at midnight, I thanked God that I could. And you know, I reflected on the people who cannot. I do not mean those people in third world countries who simply do not have access to running water…as grave as that is. No, I reflected on those people in the cities where we live who for one reason or another do not have the means to pay for running water. They have the access but not the means. They wake up and can hear their neighbor’s shower running, or their landlord’s washing machine on spin cycle, or they see a neighbor watering his lawn….his lawn…. while they are in a drought.

The shame. It brings me back to the shame of it all. If they have no running water, their showers are few and far between at the Y or at friend’s and relatives homes. They cannot maintain the hygiene that you or I take for granted. And when they present themselves to the world at this less than commonly accepted level of hygienic standard….there is shame. And lies to cover the shame.

It is here that we must acknowledge the dignity of the human person and help eradicate shame.

1700 The dignity of the human person is rooted in his creation in the image and likeness of God; it is fulfilled in his vocation to divine beatitude. It is essential to a human being freely to direct himself to this fulfillment. By his deliberate actions, the human person does, or does not, conform to the good promised by God and attested by moral conscience. Human beings make their own contribution to their interior growth; they make their whole sentient and spiritual lives into means of this growth. With the help of grace they grow in virtue, avoid sin, and if they sin they entrust themselves as did the prodigal son1 to the mercy of our Father in heaven. In this way they attain to the perfection of charity. (Catechism of the Catholic Church)

We continue on. Our fridge is a little more bare. Our hearts are full. And we prepare for a week ahead of centering ourselves and making our own contribution to our interior growth!

14 thoughts on “Our Sanctuary

  1. Elise says:

    Keep it up – I can tell that you are learning much in this time, Stace! In that SAH time, remember <>knees to the earth<>… it is a good opportunity to grow roots from much prayer. 🙂 Love you!Love your tip, too – it’s something even I, a homebody, need to be reminded of!

  2. Marcia says:

    Wow, Stacey, this is a great post!You’ve certainly given me something to think about 🙂< HREF="http://organisingtips.blogspot.com/" REL="nofollow">Organising Queen<> and< HREF="http://takechargeofyourlife.blogspot.com/" REL="nofollow">Marcia’s take charge blog<>

  3. Molly says:

    I have been lurking at your site for a couple of weeks…found it through Leanne’s. You snagged my attention with your 30 days of nothing. We live in a 3rd world country by choice, so I was curious to see how you choosing to do without things in the States would effect your perspective. Keep it up, God is teaching you lots of good things during this time! As far as your comment about water, etc., in 3rd world countries…even THEY are embarrassed by lack of $ or water. But, go figure, even those here without bathrooms, water, roof on their house…having pretty much nothing…can find enough for a t.v. or cell phone! Much of it comes down to our priorities in life!

  4. Ria says:

    Love the emphasis on stay at home. That is definitely difficult for me to do, but it is true when you accomplish it, you spend a lot less money. We are planning Christmas gifts right now that utilize some of the millions of craft supplies I have built up over the years, saving money and adding that personal touch.

  5. Katy says:

    How very true. I really appreciate this blog today Stacey! Thanks so much! I am thinking about you and your family and impressed by your strength!

  6. thehomespunheart says:

    Stacey,I’ve been lurking reading about your 30 Days of Nothing and I must tell you that I am incredibly intrigued by the whole idea. I didn’t read it until the day before you were going to start or I may have more seriously considered joining in – just didn’t have time to plan that fast!I appreciate the honesty and reality which you are sharing this with all of us and I am excited to see what unfolds over the next weeks.Have a great day!Monica

  7. Kelly says:

    This is profound. When you wrote about hearing a neighbor’s running water it really brought it home to me. We are so blessed, and take so much for granted.But once we acknowledge that, what is our next step? Can we make a difference for others? Or is it enough that we have empathy and can show a little love and grace to the unfortunate in our midst?Thanks for the thought provoking post, and I encourage you in your 30 days of nothing. You will com eout of this a changed family, I am sure.

  8. Cheryl says:

    I think what you are doing is great.I really enjoyed reading your post. It really makes a person think about real life. We get caught up in our own lives sometimes and forget about others around us. Thanks for the eye opener! God Bless.

  9. Missy says:

    Stacey,I totally agree with your point of staying home. Whenever I’m out I will tack on other things to the list…like, “Oh, I’m out. I might as well go through drive thru for lunch!” I get more done around the house and the kids needs are met (naps, baths, etc) when I’m home. My neighbor always goes out to take advantage of sales. I joke with her that I save money by not going to the sale at all!

  10. Jenn @ Munchkin Land says:

    I am so impressed with your family’s dedication to such an amazing goal. No water?! Wow! I tip my hat to you, friend. And great tip, its easy to see how one can get sucked into materialism when out and about. I am looking forward (4 weeks and counting) to spending mornings at home!

  11. MamaArcher says:

    I really enjoyed this post and I just wanted to let you know that I linked to your post today. You can find it on my blog at the link below.< HREF="http://www.mamaarcher.com" REL="nofollow">MamaArcher’s Blog<>

Comments are closed.