Gold Medal Extraordinary Chocolate Chip Cookies

(MY chocolate chip cookies!!!)

So, chocolate chip cookies and I have a sordid history.

Used to be that I couldn’t make ’em to save my soul. Then I discovered those peel & bake variety or whatever they are called. I would buy a pack of those and call it a day. But I have secretly been wanting to really perfect this art. I mean, I want to be the mom whose house the kids all come to to hang out, and well, I don’t want Pillsbury’s cookies on my counter for them, I want MINE!

Okay, I found this recipe on the back of a Gold Medal Flour package. And I am telling you, these are AWESOME!!
I only made one change that you can do or not.

1 1/2 C softened butter
1 1/4 C granulated sugar
1 1/4 C brown sugar
1 T vanilla
2 eggs
4 C all-purpose flour (ahem, Gold Medal, ofcourse!)
2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 bag chocolate chips – here is where I made the change. I did THREE half bags each of chocolate chip, white chocolate chip, and butterscotch chip cookies. It made a HUGE difference – they are so flavorful!

1. Heat oven to 350
2. Beat butter sugars, vanilla & eggs. Stir in dry ingredients. Add chips.
3. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.
4. Bake for 12 -14 minutes.
5. Let cool for 2 minutes before removing from cookie sheet.
6. Remove to wire rack and let cool completely.

Makes about 6 dozen cookies.

Needless to say, this is the recipe the neighborhood kids will all be eating at my house for the next two decade and a half!

4 thoughts on “Gold Medal Extraordinary Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Missy says:

    Yum! They look so good 🙂 I went to a cookie exchange tonight. I choose not to bake and watched everyone exchange yummy cookies. It inspired me to bake next year 🙂Blessings,Missy

  2. Brenda says:

    Those sound really good! I’ll have try that recipe next time I make cookies. Unfortunately, I too have been using the refrigerated kind.

  3. Brittany says:

    OMG! I am the same way! Can’t make a chocolate chip cookie to save my soul… except for the break and bake variety! I found this recipe on the flour bag and was blown away! This is the only recipe that has ever worked for me!!!

Comments are closed.