WFMW: Gym Nursery


Well, I haven’t made much mention of it over the month of January, but today is the day. My fitness goals for 2008 were to work out 3 times per week. I had originally set out the goal of doing something different at least once per week. But that has not happened. The whole “getting-up-earlier-than-God-to make-sure-I-get-my-workout-in-before-Beloved-leaves-for-work” thing kept me from reaching that goal. I have kept to my 3 times a week for the most part and I have mostly been walking. I have logged about 18 miles since the beginning of January and I am feeling great!!

In order to make this work, I joined a gym and am able to do the free weights as well as get on that treadmill. I have yet to add biking to my routine, but I suppose I will. I am not a huge fan of the stationary bike, but I know it is good to change it up sometimes. I still really want an iPod to help me through my workout….sigh.

I look forward to the next month or so of adding more mileage and increasing to a jog. If my pace keeps up I will be more than able to meet all of my goals this year! I cannot believe that a month has gone by already!

I have to say, it just feels so good to be by myself doing something great for me. It is also I think a wonderful example to my children. They come and go in the gym nursery, so they know exactly what I am up to during that time and I love that it gives them the sense that fitness is a life-long endeavor. And thanks to all those endorphins, Mama is a happier, less stressed Mama!

Not only that, but the gym nursery is basically a big room with padded walls…er, I mean, floors! And the kids literally run around like little animals expending every.last.stitch.of.energy. Which is great, because then they nap soundly after lunch and there are no “stay-in-your-bed-for-the-love-of-all-that-is-good-and-holy” rants from this Mama. Pretty much a win-win, wouldn’t you say?

Works for me and works for my family!

For more WFMW, check out Rocks in my Dryer.

8 thoughts on “WFMW: Gym Nursery

  1. Leanne says:

    My kids LOVE the gym….and I fully intend to utilize it again after the baby is born and old enough to withstand some of those germs!Good for you!! Congratulations…I’m a much happier person after a good workout!

  2. Amy says:

    I too joined a gym this January, actually the local YMCA. Once I figured out that I could go Monday Wednesday and Friday for an hour and a half with the kiddos (ages 1 & 3)in their ‘childwatch’, the $29 per month seemed like a steal!

  3. Missy says:

    Ok,Stace, I’m joining you on the fitness thing. I’m signing on to do jazzercise! I can’t wait! Also, I wanted to tell you I like your “Blogging Without Obligation” sign. That’s me! I’m glad you are joining the crowd! I followed the link and I really like what she said about it!

Comments are closed.