Isn’t it Ironic?

So, I have a tale of how I have pretty much fallen off the face of the cell-phone-planet lately. It goes a little something like this.

First, I dropped my phone on the frozen brick outside my front door. And it stopped working. So, no big deal, I planned on just calling and getting it replaced – thank God for small favors like cell phone insurance coverage so all I have to pay each.and.every.time.this.happens. is the deductible. Which is still a pain in the tukus, but you know, whatever. It is so so worth it for me to be able to talk to all my friends while I am on the go, going, going, going, going! Ya know? ‘Cause as my friends know, (Betsy), it is when I am in the van driving with nothing else to do but operate a several-tonne vehicle at oh 65-ish miles per hour……

But I digress.

So I was missing calling my friends, and having them call me. I have been in withdrawl. But I was using my poor crippled cell phone as an alarm clock for several, days, ahem….and several I mean about 20.

And then,

IT.

WENT.

MISSING.

Yes Ma’am it did. I was mortified but thankful all at the same time!! Mortified for my numbers all stored in that little smartchip doo-dad. And my preferences and ringtones, and pictures. Oh my pictures. The ones that you take on a cell phone that won’t win any awards but serve only to tell a story of something so extremely urgent that you-had-to-snap-a-grainy-reminder-of-this-moment-and-send-it-to-daddy.
Sigh.

But then, I was thankful because I knew that I had written down all of my numbers on a sheet of paper. Yes, I was so thankful I had the foresight to prepare for a catastrophic event such as this. I was prepared. You betchya. Don’t ask me where that blessed paper is right this moment though.

What? I said I was thankful, not perfect!!

So, on for the good news!

I called today and in about 4 minutes flat they said that

“a new phone was on it’s way to you. But wait, WAIT. The phone you lost is no longer being made (tee, hee) so we will have to upgrade you to a newer phone with better capabilities, clearer picture capacity, pda programs, and oh yes, an MP3 player. “

WHAT?!?!?!?!!!!!!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

“Oh,” I say in a very nonchalant voice “So you are telling me I just simply cannot get my old make and model anymore and you HAVE to do this upgrade for no extra cost to me?”

“Yes Ma’am” The Nice Ms. AT&T replies.

“Alrightythen. Oh and thankyouverymuch”

SOOOOOOOO, I am getting an MP3 player!! Oh yeah, and a cell phone.

I cannot wait to take it to the gym this weekend and just get on that treadmill and enjoy my music! I mean, I know this technology is not new to the rest of you, but for me, it is still a delightful frivolity not to be taken lightly!!

I will let you know how much music it holds and how I like it!

5 thoughts on “Isn’t it Ironic?

  1. Stacy says:

    stacey, oh YAY! what a perk! 🙂 we are so not technologically savvy, either. when we upgraded our computer recently (after having the same computer for nearly TEN years. and yes, it took up an entire room), we were told that with our computer we got a free ipod. we were FLOORED. FREE? an ipod?!?!?! we NEVER thought we’d have one of THOSE! ~smile~have fun with your new upgrade! ~stacy

  2. The Foxes says:

    Hi Stacy!I’m so excited that you are going to be a part of the Weight Loss Challenge. It’s going to be fun!I’m looking forward to getting to know you.I just read your first entry and I’m going to stay a little longer and read some more. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!Jennifer =-)

Comments are closed.