Roots and Wings

Character Training.

Around here it happens all the time, of course, but more intentionally, we have Character Training lessons every tuesday after school. I am hoping to see growth in some of the following areas:

Attentiveness
Joyful Obedience
Honesty
Respect
Integrity
Gentleness
Self-Control
Piety
Sharing
Gracefulness
Cheerful Patience
Deferring to one another in love
Temperance

Oh, I could go on and on. I am working on getting it all organized and written down. But that is where my own character falls short. So Tim and I came up with a list of I don’t know 30 some character traits and virtues and family rules we want the kids to grow in. And rather than be a reactive parent I have decided to go ahead and be pro-active about it and not only model the behavior I want to see in my children (still working on that one) but also instruct them in the way they should walk.
The idea is to take 30 minutes every week and have an intentional lesson about this character trait/virtue/family rule, whatever. Include a relevant scripture that is short enough for them to memorize and for all of you to recite throughout the week when a reminder is needed. =)
The lesson could be as simple as playing a game that involves simple obedience like Simon Says or Red Light, Green Light. And then a short teaching about all the ways God asks us to obey. And a brainstorming about how we can better obey Mama & Daddy.

Regardless of what you do, it is vitally important that we teach these things to our children. I remember a friend relaying a story about when she was a new wife and mother and the house was kind of messy and one day it dawned on her: “What am I waiting for? No one else is going to come in here and clean this! This is MY role now!”
So I too have been given an Aha! Moment: What am I waiting for? It is not as if they will be learning these things any place else! This is MY role now! THIS is the very heart of what it means to be the primary educators of our children!!!

I have been brainstorming over this endeavor for quite some time and have a few additional things to say about it. But for now I must away to my sweet lovelies who are home from school on a snow day and in need of a snack.

Stay tuned for part II.

5 thoughts on “Roots and Wings

  1. Sarah says:

    Ooohhh Stacey!! LOVE this idea! Please to share more. May need to borrow from you. I know, some of these things seem like ‘no brainers’ as parents/educators, but I think could use a list to work off of and also to set aside the time weekly for it. Again, Excellent Idea Momma!! Can’t wait for more of your thoughts on it!!

  2. Sarah D says:

    This is great, Stacey! Yes, these things seem like obvious virtues and habits we want in ourselves and our children, but how are they going to learn and grow if we don’t proactively help them? I look forward to hearing more from you about this. You’re off to a great start!

  3. Laurie says:

    This sounds like a fabulous idea! We are trying various learning activities with Kiley as well and this would work good for her.

Comments are closed.