Friday’s Daybook


FOR TODAY
September 11, 2009…

Outside my window… a range of mountains whose name I have yet to discover and whose trails we cannot wait to explore.

I am thinking… about all I want to get done this weekend on the house and just how I can balance that some family fun and relaxation. Also thinking about my sister-in-law’s mother-in-law who is in the hospital. Please pray.

I am thankful for… skype and the ability to keep up with family and friends in the past couple days through this amazing technology. it really does make the world a whole lot smaller!

From the learning rooms… we cut, paste, and create. we read, recite, and remember. we pray, laugh, and love. we sing, spell, and copy. we dance, build, and sort.
Still getting in the groove here in Nazareth Academy, getting a sense of what works for ALL of us. We are mostly evaluating our pace right now: what kinds of things can we push forward and go faster on, and what do we need to slow down with to ensure they really, really get it.

From the kitchen… baking some cookies with the kids this afternoon, in preparation for friday family fun night. It is pizza night here, so we will order in and have it delivered. Looking forward to a break from cooking.

I am wearing… grey yoga pants, green tank top, and hot pink short sleeved zip hoodie, oh and my black croc flip flops.

I am creating… chore charts for the children, and a painting for my kitchen.

I am going… to go to the library today. we have a boat load of books to return and just as many to check out so we are stocked for next week. I failed to plan ahead this past week so that we can pick up a few specific books that they get ready and waiting for you, if you order them ahead of time. which, by the way, is my FAVORITE way to get library books!

I am reading… Trading Up, the last of all the Candace Bushnell books that I have to read. She wrote S*x in the Ci-ty. FYI. It’s a good summer, beach read. πŸ™‚ The perfect escape from my reality that I find endlessly entertaining.

I am hoping… we find a sitter for the Casting Crowns concert. And if we do, I will celebrate by purchasing a new outfit for our first Arizona date night!!!

I am hearing… the murmurs of a far off tea party, the scritch-scratchy sound of markers on paper, the hum of an attic fan, and the dancing of vertical blinds as the ceiling fan blows a cool wind their direction.

Around the house… unpack, organize, decorate, repeat. unpack, organize, decorate, repeat.

One of my favorite things… coffee. early morning phone calls with a sister-in-law, chats on skype with a bestie, and calamine lotion that helps disturbingly itchy mystery rashes to go away. okay, that’s four…. don’t shoot me. πŸ™‚

A few plans for the rest of the week: well, the rest of the week is the weekend so hip, hip, hooray for me! Emma starts ballet tomorrow, kids have soccer tomorrow, Daddy and Timmy go rock-climbing tomorrow and then we will have a family swim when the day is done. Sunday is Church and relaxing together, maybe a family walk, if it’s cool enough.

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

the sight that greeted me this morning courtesy of my 5 year old.

To read other daybooks, or share your own, go here.

