Last Day

Today is the last day of our Winter Vacation. It has been incredibly fun and renewing.

But tomorrow we are back to our routines which I am so grateful for.

And, since I will be implementing some of Stacy’s School During Breakfast routine, it will be necessary to make some changes around here. We have in the past had 2 modes:

On non-school days, the kids and I get up whenever we want, sometimes I am the last one up. 🙂

On school days, I am the first one up, but not by much. I usually spend their breakfast time with my coffee trying to pry my eyes open and get my head clear enough to start our school day which is typically an hour or so later. This is what I would consider one of my weaknesses.

On the occaisonal days that I get up super early and have my prayer, exercise, shower, and coffee all before they come down, life is SO much better. This is what I am going to try to implement starting this week. I am printing off some prayers and filling my ipod with praise, so my exercise and prayer time can be combined first thing in the morning. Then I will be showering and getting dressed and having my coffee while I prepare their breakfast. So that during breakfast, we can be starting school.

This will take some amount of organization and discipline on my part. Like setting out clothes for myself the night before, setting the breakfast table the night before and setting my alarm – as well as, GASP! Going to bed earlier! That is the kicker for me. I am SUCH a nightowl. I need to adjust this part of my life because it is an area of extreme selfishness. I need to force myself to bed earlier so that I can accomplish all of the things I want to in the mornings!

Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Last Day

  1. Mary B says:

    GOOD LUCK!! I need discipline in that area myself…getting all of those things accomplished, I mean. Prayer time is usually easy, but I end up spending too much time on the computer after my prayer time. This week I have committed to 4 of 5 days for exercise (see Wendy at showered w/grace) before I leave town on Thursday afternoon. I will be praying that you can get your schedule changed.

  2. Sarah says:

    Blessings on your new routine and getting back to school after our break!

    Those kind of changes are very tough to adjust to, I can testify to that. I still am not a morning person, but I do my best to try and be one. I too, know that things run much smoother when I get up first and get things going before kids arrive on the scene.

    Hope all goes well in your household as you make adjustments! Enjoy your first week back to school.

  3. Stacy says:

    The getting-to-bed-earlier thing is *always* the kicker for me, too. I KNOW I need the sleep, but I so treasure those nighttime “downtime” hours that they're not easy for me to give up!

    ((Love you, friend!)) Hope things go well for you this week!

Comments are closed.