Winds of Change

Wow. We have been on a whirlwind lately. I am overwhelmed and soooooo thankful it is Lent so I can take more time to pray and process.

My house is a mess and it needs to be cleaned. I am taking the next 4 days (yes it’s that bad) to do that. And then we will be starting a NEW homeschool curriculum.

We stumbled upon a public charter school that is home-based and felt like it was the perfect fit for our family style, learning style, and um, mama-style. Long story short, I like that it comes to our door all pre-planned and prepared, and all I have to do is facilitate the process. Oh, and it’s free. I like that, too.

We have submitted the applications for enrollment and all the supporting documents were faxed today. Now we wait. Pray with us, won’t you?

The tricky thing is that is is February. And our kids are halfway done K & 1st. And we just enrolled them in this new program that will be delivered in it’s entirety and we have to cover EVERYTHING before we can move up to the next grade. Thankfully, they do some testing and they do pro-rate the percentage you have to finish and it is mastery-based so we will whiz through the first several (or more) units. But still. I have the tendency to be overwhelmed.

So I will clean. That is what I will do. So I don’t stress. I will pray as I clean my house. ๐Ÿ™‚ That will be great. I will have a very clean house until we get ourselves all sorted out and settled in.

I repeat my request for prayer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank goodness it is Lent. We can just count this waiting and “transition” as penance, don’t you think?

*********************************************

Speaking of Lent,

Overheard in the van today:

E: I am giving up all of tv except the Olympics because we have to watch that for school.

T: Em, that’s great. I am proud of you. I am not saying I will give up cartoons and movies, because I could not hold that.

Bahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaa!
Wise, huh?

I am giving up texting in the van, and saying bad words. Don’t judge me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Unlike my beautiful children, I am giving up behaviors that I truly want to see conversion in, so I am praying I can “hold it”.

******************************************************************

Finally, a bit of hope. In a season of suffering and sacrifice, we have been given glimpses of hope for growing our family.ย Iย have recently met some wonderful moms, one who is a Napro trained physician and the other who is a NFP educator, both who are convinced that our doctors in St. Louis did not do everything possible to get us pregnant. In fact, apparently, they didn’t even do the minimum. Sigh. That is incredibly disappointing. And hopeful.

So we will schedule an appointment with the Napro trained OB here and go from there. Please keep this in prayer as well.

5 thoughts on “Winds of Change

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wow, Stacey. That transition to the new program will take some time, but I hope it's a good move.

    How wonderful about the NAPRO physician & NFP educator!!! That is hopeful indeed. We were helped tremendously here by some as well. What a blessing to be able to be seen by someone who truly cares for you & your fertility.

    Prayers coming your way!

    Kate Ives

  2. Sarah says:

    Changes, indeed!! Sounds like it will take a bit to get in a groove with the new program, but seriously, whatever works for you and makes the homeschooling journey easier is so worth it. And it helps with burn-out too! We looked into a similar style curriculum before starting, but ultimately went with what we use now. We still keep that option in mind for a possibility for the future/older grades where it may be a bit more beneficial for us. Good luck! And happy cleaning!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    My heart lept when I read about your new hope!! Giddy with the possibilites for you. Please keep us updated. (We really should chat very soon!!) You have been a faithful mama drawn to God's will for your family and you've had to go through some pretty tough heart ache in accepting His Will. May these years of waiting be fruitful with the hopeful possibility of adding to your family. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I will keep your intentions in my Lenten prayer for you. Please keep me in yours if you would. Today I go back to my NaPro doc. for a consult and I'm hoping we can move forward with some options for treatment and care that will lead to expanding our family.

    Lenten Blessings!!

  3. Mary B says:

    Stacey…my prayers will definitely be with you for your school decisions and your family future. I am excited for you…please keep me posted. Love and prayers.

Comments are closed.